Home > Uncategorized > Golden rule: Always say thank you

Golden rule: Always say thank you

The Seattle Seahawks drafted Notre Dame WR Golden Tate with their second-round pick, No. 60 overall. The Nashville native and former John Paul II High School star had a monster junior season with 93 receptions for 1,496 yards and 15 touchdowns.

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=Golden+Tate&iid=7355597″ src=”0/3/c/1/Home_Depot_ESPNU_b8f2.jpg?adImageId=12638150&imageId=7355597″ width=”234″ height=”317″ /]The Seahawks not only are getting a guy whom I believe will be a great player, but a character guy like few others.

Tennessean sports writer Bryan Mullen wrote a story about Tate that appeared in Thursday’s editions of the newspaper in advance of the beginning of the draft. What happened next floored Mullen, who has covered college athletics in Nashville for a handful of years.

“I was covering the Predators-Blackhawks playoff game and it was really loud,” Mullen said. “My phone rang and I didn’t recognize the number. I thought it was this weird number my wife sometimes calls me from from her work. I answered it kind of curtly and the first thing I heard was, ‘Bryan, this is Golden.’ I was stunned. He said he just read the story and wanted to say thanks. He said it brought back a lot of memories because I went back through his childhood.

“Keep in mind he called when the first-round selections were going on. He said, ‘You sound like you’re busy. I just wanted to say thank you.’ I remember thinking, ‘You’re probably a bit busier than me.’ ”

Ask any longtime sportswriter how often he has gotten a call like that.

“I’ve never received a call like that in 14 years as a sports writer,” Mullen said. “Those calls simply don’t happen. A few days earlier, I was the one thanking him, allowing me that kind of access in his home during one of the busiest weeks of his life. And there he was on the other line, thanking me. And it was genuine.”

Congrats, Seahawks. You got one who might be just as good off the field as he will be on it.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Wildman
    April 25, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Arrrggghhhhh! I hate seeing this. My beloved team passed on Golden Tate to take some receiver from Illinois who hasn’t made the team blogs yet. Even ESPN in their poll showed fans thought that Golden Tate would be a better receiver than this Illiinois guy two to one.

    Why can’t my team get this draft thing right?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

